The No Budget Film Festival returned last month and as promised, delivered a super-sized version in its 4th year. Shifting to the Vista theater from its previous home at the Downtown Independent, cARTel:Collaborative Arts LA continued its annual audience-doubling streak. The week began with a filmmaker kickoff dinner where NBFF Juror and Board Member, producer Brian Udovich, (ALL THE BOYS LOVE MANDY LANE, THE WACKNESS, WE GOTTA GET OUT OF THIS PLACE), issued the creative rallying cry, "Never stop fucking shooting." The week continued with the Industry Meet-and-Greet, a first ever for the Eastside fest, which paired filmmakers with leading industry movers and shakers in a speed-date style networking setting. Industry members included J. Todd Harris, (THE KIDS ARE ALRIGHT), representatives from PrimeTV, (where the winning films will be broadcast via Roku), Hollywood Shorts, Native Pictures, and many more.

The festival then opened to public on the weekend with an informative panel series and screening of honorable mentions on Saturday at the historic El Cid, which strove to answer the question "What's Next?". Exploring the topics of life after shorts, alt distribution, and evolving technology the panel featured the likes of Kings of Summer director Jordan Vogt-Roberts (who returned Sunday as a juror), Drafthouse Films COO James Shapiro, Short Term 12 producer Asher Goldstein, the creators of augmented reality company DAQRI and new camera the Digital Bolex and tons more.

Sunday played host to the sold-out screening at the Vista Theater, followed by a closing gala party + awards ceremony in the heart of Silverlake, which featured flowing drinks, small bites, and an art gallery featuring 13 pieces based on each of the 13 accepted films. The Awards Ceremony was led by Vogt-Roberts and Artistic Director Negin Singh and the hand crafted golden piggy banks were presented to Twin(s)' Matthew Kaundart for Innovation and Writing, We, Seahorses' Ruan du Plessis for Cinematography, and Planning Ahead's Emma Fassler for Performance. Critic's Choice went to Planning Ahead, directed by Drew Crabtree, and the Audience Choice went to Subway, from director Nicholas Ramirez and writer/star Omid Singh.

You can catch all of No Budget's 2013 film program soon via PrimeTV Networks NBFF channel on Roku.